How To Pick A Good Editor.

I submitted a sample of my book to an editor. The person made changes to my story that just did not fit my voice, things I thought were rather amateurish.
It left me a bit skeptical. I am a new writer, book wise. I don't know, with any experience, how the process should work. I assume that editors are a necessary part of the process, but how do you pick one that is not going to change your story?
Honestly, I made me wonder how come that editor didn't have their own book published, and what was that result? What if you pay someone a couple grand and they turn your story into something it was not meant to be?
Grammer and the like is one thing, but how many times are you going to have to pay a couple grand for someone to go through your book until someone gets it right. 
I suspect that because of my ignorance I am over reacting, right?

I will leave the answers to the people who have experience with editors.  I am however very interested to know how people go about picking the best editor for their book, and their individual needs.  

6 hours ago, Jeff Flaig said:

I suspect that because of my ignorance, I am over reacting, right?

It's a setup question, Jeff.  

So to approach it from a different angle, years ago I was riding up in an elevator with a few other writers I hung with and one or two that I didn't know.  My friends and I had just met with a very well known editor who graciously extended his time and had evaluated our manuscripts which we had forwarded to him in advance.  None of us were happy with what he told us, and we were complaining about it on the way up to the meet and greet room.  I was the most vocal.  I'd written what I thought was the perfect thriller and I thought the editor was an idiot- famous or not.