Nicholas Reicher

Buffer Removes Features In Free Plan

Buffer has removed almost every feature they had in their free plan - essentially turning them into a mere front end for Twitter.

I can't re-buffer any longer, and I no longer can see if my tweets have any impact or not.

This was a senseless decision, and will cost them millions.

So now, i'm learning how to use Hootsuite's free plan - and when I'm making real money as a writer, I'll go with Hootsuite instead of Buffer.

If any of you are undecided about which front end to schedule your social media through, I now suggest Hootsuite instead of Buffer.

Opinions?

Sort of... Buffer was how I wrote Tweets for Twitter. I just switched to Hootsuite, where instead of 10 tweets with limitations, now I can schedule 60.

Posted (edited)

That sounds like a serious upgrade, especially if Buffer was free and now they're charging.  I've never used Twitter, but my wife is a regular follower.  I'm afraid to learn because it would take up time up time I could use for writing, but on the other hand, it's almost required nowdays from what I see.

Edited by suspensewriter

They offered a free plan of ten scheduled posts, plus reposting ("buffering") and a browser attachment. But they took away the stats feature, the ability to rebuffer. Essentially, less than you get from Twitter for free.

2 minutes ago, Nicholas Reicher said:

You can schedule 30 tweets at a time

Okay, how do you guys not run out of words when you're tweeting so much?  And how do you figure out what to talk about?

In other words, why do people want to read your tweets?  How do you get them to look at your tweets?  I've never ever read a tweet in my life so that's why I'm ignorant of this, but I'd really like to know.