Sibermom65

Hosting A Conference

I'm looking at the possibility of our church hosting a "mini-conference" this fall. Funds will be limited and the participants few. My first problem is that I've never attended a conference myself, so I don't have much of a background. I think I would like to have a guest speaker in the morning and workshop time in the afternoon. Does that sound viable? How do I go about finding a speaker? The theme will be based around evangelization. I believe it can successfully be done ecumenically, but again, I have no experience. Ideas anyone?

Do you have a writer's group in your area? Maybe someone in the group knows of someone who would come? Do you have a writer that might be somewhat known? Where do you live?

13 hours ago, lynnmosher said:

Do you have a writer's group in your area? Maybe someone in the group knows of someone who would come? Do you have a writer that might be somewhat known? Where do you live?

Hey, Lynn, would Project Connections be a better place to help Sibermom with this?

I live in a very small community in upstate New York. Our local writing group consists of only a handful of people. Part of the attraction of this location is the quiet and the remoteness. I know there are writers nearby, but I don't have names nor know how to connect with them. That's some of what I have to figure out. Right now it seems like there is an awful lot of "must do A before B but must do B before A." There is a university about 20 minutes away that I might be able to draw from but I'm afraid students are more likely to be attendees that speakers.

3 minutes ago, suspensewriter said:

Hey, Lynn, would Project Connections be a better place to help Sibermom with this?

That's a good question. I'm not sure. Gotta ponder this. Thanks, SW. :D

9 minutes ago, Sibermom65 said:

There is a university about 20 minutes away that I might be able to draw from but I'm afraid students are more likely to be attendees that speakers.